Mortality.

Your mother will die.

Your father will die.

And if the law of averages and life spans are to be believed, they will probably die before you.

Sit back.

Let this realization sink in.

Feel your gut clench and the sheer overpowering, sweat-inducing terror of this thought wash over you.

Shut your eyes really, really tight.

Feel the breath getting knocked out of you – try desperately to cover the crater that has magically appeared where your heart used to be.

Create a black hole. Make these thoughts disappear in it. Forget that you ever thought of this.

Recreate the invincibility of your parents.

Live in the delusion. Stay happy.

 

2 comments

  1. paritoshzero · July 13, 2013

    This is exactly what I knew you to be capable of.
    I am of that age where my parents’ mortality, why, even my own mortality, is not not a notion that me be carelessly shrugged away. I am a familiar of that vacuum of which you speak with fair frequency.
    Excellent work. When is the next installment coming up?

  2. Nowhere Man. · July 13, 2013

    The one thing that’s never made me feel scared, always have accepted death just like how people accept breathing. One must die, some die too early and some die too late. I don’t even remember the last time I shed a tear when someone close to me in the family or a very dear friend died.

    Does the lack of this feeling mean I’m not normal?

Leave a Reply

