Fall.

Stay.

I had a fall once.

Pride was there before it.

Now there is just want.

We had a fight yesterday, and I had to tell you things.

Those little truths I hide within? The ones you call my secrets, those little contentions we have.

You know I tell you everything, and you’re bare to your bones.

You know we are made of the same stuff, some iron and rocks mixed with lots of fairy dust.

So, when you were angry yesterday, and we thought of going our separate ways, there was another fight going on at the back.

A quick little tussle, between my heart and my head.

Lasted around two minutes, as you well know.

The time between my last brave declaration and my next text to you.

My heart made me cry out “Stay.”

My head, with the ghost of long-forgotten pride added, “I’m just used to the company.”

(We all know how hard habit drives desire.)

4 comments

  1. Paritosh Joshi (@paritoshZero) · March 28, 2013

    You write well. I only wish you wrote other things than maudlin pap more frequently.

    • redchappals · March 28, 2013

      If you only knew how many times I have heard that before.

  2. G · March 29, 2013

    So was Pride finally Felled? Or is the Demon going to rise again?…

    What you are ‘used’ to may cease to feel desirable someday, someday soon may be…

    Then, what Secret will you Discover or Divulge?

    If we were really bare to bones may be there would be NO Separate.

    No Tussle.

    Fewer Words. Much Shared-Satisfying Silence. And So Many Ways to Be, to Do, to Dream…. that is so Desirable…

  3. विलोम · April 18, 2013

    Old habits drive hard! The fight going on at the back is what matters, at times, we have an enemy in our camps. Very well written.

Leave a Reply

