Thank you.

Hi,

I have decided to temporarily take off the “My truth” post from the blog post.

I had written the post as a reminder to myself. Because there were people out there, who had heard one side of the story and were judging me, and demeaning me because of that.

I wanted my side to be out there, as well. If for nothing else, then for my satisfaction. I waited for five days, to get the courage to talk about it. And I will need a lot more time to even think about being myself again.

I was alone and helpless. And more so, when supposed ‘friends’ were calling me at 12.30 at night to say that they did not believe I had it in me to do anything. But I don’t feel that anymore. I feel that I did something. I am not a victim. I do not want to be one.But I’m at least the girl who did not stay quiet.

I did not expect the overwhelming sympathy and support that I got here, and I am at a loss for words to even begin to thank all of you.

The only reason the post is not up here currently, is that though I have the courage to talk about it, there are people in my life (parents, siblings, relatives) who will not be okay with facing the consequences. And I would not want them to either.

Even though there will be consequences, and I will live with them, I am glad I spoke up. And I am glad that there are people who will raise their voice against  violence, no matter who suffers from it.

I cannot say this enough- Thank you.

 

 

 

14 comments

  1. daddysan · November 2, 2012

    Honestly, you need to report this. All the best.

  2. Vrinda Patney · November 2, 2012

    You’re a brave woman, there are no two ways about it. Keep your head up high. 🙂 Karma will finds its way to him.

  3. Ashwin R · November 2, 2012

    Well done! There might be consequences, but you’d much rather live it with your head held high, than live through consequences with fear & guilt of repressing them.
    Again, Twitter’s out there to help you. Don’t be scared to ask for help.
    All the best to you.

  4. p v · November 2, 2012

    pls privately share the post if poss. i am sending my email add. i RTed it today afternoon. but i want only 2 men to read it. if its oki. its a very imp post!

  5. Oshomha (@heyshomy) · November 2, 2012

    You did a bold one speaking up and take your time girl, to heal and make strides in this world. I hope more people take a cue and speak up too. God bless you

  6. aditya jha · November 2, 2012

    i wish there were more people like u in this country!!!!

  7. Shady (@Shadez) · November 3, 2012

    More strength and blessings to you! \m/ I respect that you took it down for your dear ones. Pretty sane thing to do in this situation. Stay together. You are much strong than you think you are.

  8. zephyrsays · November 3, 2012

    I am glad you spoke about it. And I understand why you took the post off. It did send mixed signals but even then I had an idea that family had something to do with it. I have one request. Don’t let this pass. You have the resources and the support. So please don’t let this pass.

  9. Sarah (@Rockstarni) · November 3, 2012

    You are a brave girl, much stronger than even you and we all can ever think. More prayers for you. That demon will get it back soon, time will show! Don’t worry, gather yourself.. try to forget.. start a new beginning.. make good friends.. keep writing.. keep yourself busy.. do what you enjoy and gives you happiness.. stay healthy.. much beautiful things and good times anon! Never look back! God bless you!!! Take care.. *Hugs*

  10. Saad · November 3, 2012

    I read your blog post “My truth” and I must say, it takes a lot of guts to do that. Its shows your strength as an individual and how brave you are. Taking the post down for the sake of your loved ones’ again shows what wonderful person you are.
    Keep fighting the good fight.
    Cheers. 🙂

  11. S (@FlirtingKaapi) · November 3, 2012

    I am glad that you did not keep quiet and proud that you thought about your close ones. Though, I hope you do take some action against him. I hope you do. *hugs*

  12. Team Kali · November 4, 2012

    Hi, Kopal, well, first things first, kudos again to you for the courage of having stood up against violence.
    We were looking for your email id, to tell you this, but well, as long as the message is communicated…

    Your’s is a story, like many many others…we do not know, how to end this, but one person speaking out makes quite a bit of a difference. We’ve been polite, we’ve been silent for way too long. And it is high time things changed, and thanks to people like you they are…respect, for having set the wheels turning 🙂

    In respect to the kind of courage that you had shown, we made a post in your honour, and in the honour of everyone else, who made a difference, by speaking up and speaking out, however big or small! Thought you should know…
    Here is the link:

    Prior to this, your post had moved us to rage, so we shared your post ‘The Truth’ . We completely understand your deleting the post..it is yours to keep or not 🙂 Do let us know if you want the link removed from our page.
    Love and light!

    Regards,
    Team Kali
    PS: congratulations on the new kitten and the haircut!

    • redchappals · November 4, 2012

      The point of writing about it was to rise above my own helplessness, and just “do” something. Yesterday, there was a discussion among some people about the actual ‘utility’ of talking about a subject. Since talk is obviously transient and public memory notoriously short, I was at a point where I thought that my voice was lost. But, if my speaking out is able to probably influence even one woman to talk about what she is going through and get out of an abusive relationship, then I do not care if everyone else forgets. I have realized that retaliation does not necessarily have to be degraded to the level of the attack itself, it can just be as simple as not staying quiet. We are not victims unless we choose to be.

      Thank you so much for the post. It is wonderful.

      Kopal.

  13. Alok · November 7, 2012

    Kopal, I hope you get justice. All the best!

    For people who have not read he post, it is still in the Google Search cache …

Leave a Reply

